Andover Advertising with BP Rolls in Andover

Advertise with Andover & Villages - Cost Effective Advertising

Harrow Way Celebrate their 50th Year Group – the Class of 2017

  • Written by Editor

Education News | Harrow Way Celebrate their 50th Year Group – the Class of 2017 | Andover & VillagesHarrow Way recognised and celebrated the achievements of a particularly special year group recently as part of their 50th anniversary. Watched by proud families, teachers and Governors, the class of 2017, the school’s 50th year group, were joined by the Mayor and Consort of Test Valley, Councillor Carl Borg-Neal and Mrs Borg-Neal and special guest, Shonagh Manson. Shonagh, a former Harrow Way student is Assistant Director, Culture and Creative Industries, working for Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan.

A very proud headteacher Michael Serridge welcomed back the former students praising them for their wonderful GCSE performance which he described as another set of outstanding results for the school. Commenting on the government changes to GCSE grading, which didn’t hold the 2017 cohort back, he applauded the students for the impressive 81% who achieved the new style grade 9 to 4 (equivalent to the current A* to C) in English, 71% in Maths and 66% in both English (Language or Literature) and Maths.

Commenting on the 50th anniversary he said: “In 1967 we opened our shiny new doors for the very first time, welcoming just 140 students. Over the last fifty years thousands of students have walked through those doors. You were the 50th year group through, initially as 11 year olds of varying confidence and abilities but all leaving as self-assured 16 year olds, bearing the hallmarks of a Harrow Way education - confident, independent and well prepared for a successful future”.

Mr Serridge went on to introduce Shonagh Mason who before presenting the GCSE certificates and Subject Awards gave a very positive speech telling the students: “Follow your passion and don’t be afraid to try anything and everything on the way. I worked from being a barmaid to an administrator at a pharmaceutical company then a Director for the Jerwood Charitable Foundation before landing my dream job, only 12 weeks ago as Assistant Director Culture and Creative Industries working for the Mayor of London”.

A very special part of the evening is the trophy presentation, the winners of which are always a closely guarded secret and names revealed on the night were:

The Rotary Prize – presented to Jack Tugwell and Lauren Williams

Donated by The Rotary Club of Andover for Community Vocational Service ‘Service Above Self’.

The Darling Cup - presented to Bailey Saunders

In memory of Richard Darling, for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Music’.

The Chris Overton Cup – presented to Georgina Butler and Tommy Willard

Cup donated by Chris Overton, former Headteacher, for Sporting Achievement.

The Hudson Cup – presented to Louisa Jones

Cup donated by Rob Hudson, retired teacher at Harrow Way for 35 years, for ‘Outstanding Contribution to PE and School Sport’.

The ‘Le Creuset’ Cup – presented to Adam Hampton

Cup donated by Le Creuset, for ‘Outstanding Performance in Catering’.

The Chris Overton Shield – presented to Ella Tanner

Shield donated by Chris Overton, former Headteacher, for Performing Arts.

The Harrow Way Communications Trophy – presented to Joshua Douch

Trophy donated by Owen Paterson, for ‘Outstanding Contribution to ICT’.

The Mark Warren Shield – presented to Noah Lynam

Retired Deputy Headteacher at Harrow Way after 31 years of service, for ‘Highest Achiever in Modern Foreign Languages’.

The Office Depot Shield – presented to Katie Scratchley

Shield donated by Office Depot, for ‘Outstanding Contribution and Achievement in Mathematics and Computing’.

The Veale/Scicluna Shield – presented to Millie Fulford and Lucy Ward

Shield donated by former English teachers, Margaret Veale and John Scicluna, for ‘Excellence in English and Media’.

The Partner West Africa Award – presented to Tayla Dawe

Trophy donated by Sandy Craig of Partner West Africa for ‘Rights Respecting Commitment’

The Will Dyke Cup – presented to Tia Fisher

Cup donated by John Tacey, former Vice-chair of Governors, presented by Brian Dyke for ‘Exceptional Contribution to School Life’.

The Burbidge Shield – presented to Emma Hunter

Shield donated by Becky Burbidge, former Chair of Governors, for ‘Community Spirit’.

The Alice Razza Award – presented to Alice Razza

For ‘Courage and Determination’.

The Harrow Way Trophy – presented to Mia Larkin

For ‘Always Being Your Best’.

The Harrow Way Shield presented to Grace Witcher

For ‘Outstanding Personal Achievement’.

The Harrow Way Cup – presented to Ethan Hawes

To the ‘Best All-rounder’.

The Harrow Way WOW Award – presented to Millie Fulford

For ‘Outstanding Performance’

The Anne King Shield – presented to Noah Lynam

The ‘Highest Academic Achiever’.

Presentations to Head Boy and Head Girl

Matthew Cooper and Tia Fisher.